Pia y Damaso – Rizal’s Literary Characters – Foodie-lized

Like This!

It’s time for some interesting sounding desserts that takes me back to the novel I was required to read in school and eventually come to love, Noli Me Tangere.

The QD Delivery Experience

I used their SMS ordering system and sent the details of my order to 09182121212.  Someone from QD called me up in 5-10 minutes after I sent the message.  Because my SMS was detailed, she only needed to confirm my order, delivery address, and give me the ETA.  For orders that are outside the city where the restaurant is, it’s usually 60-90minutes and I was alright with that.  I ordered around 5:15pm and it arrived at 6:30pm, and it came all the way from Greenhills!  Not bad!  Bravo!

The Pia y Damaso Experience

There is an extensive choice of salads, starters, seafood dishes, beef and game, pork, and dessert!  It’s easy to get lost but it’s not really overwhelming.  The descriptions are all so detailed and it’s tempting to order just everything if given the chance.  Their menu is mixed Spanish and Filipino, the classics we love, given a new interesting twist, and some really new ones (at least for me they’re new).

What We Ordered

Clam Chowder P180 The Wandering Boots Rating 4 SMALL (bacon, celery, baby clams, potato noodles and milk)

I love clam chowder (I love anything chowder for that matter)!  It was creamy (as all chowders should be, otherwise it will be called soup – correct me if I’m wrong).  I preferred eating it with rice though (did I just weirded you out with that?).  ^_^

Chicken Pastel P290 The Wandering Boots Rating 4 SMALL (baked chicken breast, chorizo, bacon, potatoes, carrots & peas with a flaky crisco crust)

I never had Chicken Pastel with a sort-of pie crust but I’m not complaining!  This one, I admit, may not be priced right especially with the serving size it came in.  That said, the chicken was FLAVORFUL (yes, it’s necessary to capitalize every letter).  The chicken meat tasted like it’s been marinating in its sauce for years!  I simply do not know how they cook these to perfection but that’s also probably one of the reasons they’re confident they have the pricing right.


Camarron Cocido P380 The Wandering Boots Rating 5 SMALL  (seared prawns and seafood thermidor with scallop, fish, mussels, squid, potato and gratineed cheese sourdough crumbs)

A little pricey, for just 2 prawns… but it’s not just prawns!  It’s scallop, fish, mussels, squid, and yes, potato and cheese sourdough crumbs, plus excellent cooking skills!  The seafood thermidor (usually cooked with lobster meat), has a subtle yet unmistakably prawn taste although the texture gives away its other seafood ingredients.  It’s creamy, the prawns were cooked excellently, they remained moist and sweet.

Brazo ni Dona Vicki P100 The Wandering Boots Rating 4 SMALL (Chewy meringue roulade with fresh butter curd)

This is a treat for Mario and he’s really a self proclaimed expert on Brazo desserts (one of his favorite desserts).  Mario commented that he has tasted sweeter versions than this one (FYI, he likes everything sweet – even adobo), but for me, I think that it’s just the perfect sweetness.  The meringue embraced the whole roll of white marshmallow-like goodness and the perfect texture and taste for the curd filling.  It was exquisite!  Oh, by the way, almost all desserts on the menu have been playfully named after characters in Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere.  Dona Vicki, incase you’ve forgotten, is actually Dona Victorina “de de Espadana”, the pretentious Filipina who prefers to be associated with the Spanish people and would always wear heavy make-up.  I would imagine that the meringue is like her really thick make-up that cakes and cracks all over her face because of how thick it is.  ^_^;


Overall
I enjoyed everything we tasted but would love if the serving size just upgrades even by a little bit.  Then again, the hardwork, precision, and cooking skills they put in each of these dishes are reflected on how flavorful each one turned out.  I would love to try their other dessert dishes – the Guni-Guni, Ibarra’s Kiss, Sisa’s Dementia, etc.  ^_^  I think this will help kids love reading the novel too, as they understand and remember the classic characters more with every sweet bite.

Restaurant Location:

UNIT 2-053 Greenbelt 5

Ayala Center, Makati

Telephone:  729-5511

Email:  kaffedamaso@yahoo.com

DELIVERY:

Quick Delivery:  http://www.quickdelivery.ph/

Delivery Hotline: 2121212

Order Online: http://www.quickdelivery.ph

Delivery Call Back: Text your landline number or text <ORDER> to (0918)2121212 and they will call you back.

Order Time:  Open 24 hours

Delivery Time: 10AM to 10:00PM

* GC provided by QD for blogging purposes but the whole article
is 100% the opinion of the writer and was not influenced by the company.

Leave a Reply

