Mandarin Wok – A Great Accidental Find

We started our search for Don Henrico’s during one of our MOA nights when we noticed that we’ve had enough window shopping and that our tummies were grumbling. Our DH (Don Henrico’s) craving lead to a tiring walk that seemed like the Bataan Death March to us at that time. We were at South Parking area of the Mall-of-Asia when the kind security informed us that DH is at the North Parking Area! Our urge won over our tired feet and grumbling tummies, and we headed on to DH, only to find out, there aren’t any available seats (waiting list).

On the way to DH, we passed by an orange restaurant which had a big area behind the entrance. All the chairs and tables were placed on the right side (facing their doors), leaving the front of the counter station bare. Only a few families were dining inside, but food seemed ok (based on the menu offered at the store front and on their huge tarpaulins. We gave it a try… loved it and came back a 2nd time, this time with my brother, Mark.

About the Store

The time we went there, the aircondining was ok, not really super cold but good enough.  The place is huge but they have not optimized the use of the space since a big part of the restaurant is empty.  I don’t know if the place becomes full during peak hours (lunch and dinner).  We love the abundance of couches!!!  And they have their own restroom.

Here's me with my brother and behind us, you can see that the front part of the store is really empty.  No tables, no chairs, except for further back and the right side.  The vacant space is big enough for dance rehearsals of a hiphop crew!  ^_^;
Here's me with my brother and behind us, you can see that the front part of the store is really empty. No tables, no chairs, except for further back and the right side. The vacant space is big enough for dance rehearsals of a hiphop crew! ^_^;
Here's me (again) and Mario.  A view of the door and behind the glass (and the tarpaulins) is the counter... and the big empty space.
Here's me (again) and Mario. A view of the door and behind the glass (and the tarpaulins) is the counter... and the big empty space.

About the Food

The food is actually the biggest reason why it was such a great find for us.  We ordered the same dishes we got during our first visit.  Yes, that’s how good these 2 dishes were and we weren’t in the mood to experiment.  Well, we did want to try the Mandarin Orange Chicken (on both visits) but it wasn’t available (on both visits ^_^).  It’s one of their bestsellers that get sold out during lunch time, the crew explained to us.

Our Orders

Mario ordered Popiah ‘aka’ Fresh Lumpia for 60 PHP and the Sweet and Sour Pork (he loves sweet dishes) for 125 PHP.

I ordered the Baked Chicken Rice for me and my brother for 195 PHP.  It’s big enough to share with another person, and there’s no problem with sharing since they provide each table with plates.  Everyone can just dig in and take their share.

Popiah – Fresh Lumpia

I’m not a Fresh Lumpia fan but I think this is ok and it’s a little different from the traditional Philippine Fresh Lumpia since there were ingredients I didn’t recognize.   According to Mario, he likes it because the sauce is good and the serving is big.

Here's the Popiah.  The sauce is usually served in a ceramic container (left of the popiah) but you can also request for the sauce that's still in the squeeze bottle for more saucy goodness.  ^_^
Here's the Popiah. The sauce is usually served in a ceramic container (left of the popiah) but you can also request for the sauce that's still in the squeeze bottle for more saucy goodness. ^_^
Here's how it looks just a few seconds after it's delivered to our table.  ^_^;  See how different it is from the Philippine version of Fresh Lumpia?
Here's how it looks just a few seconds after it's delivered to our table. ^_^; See how different it is from the Philippine version of Fresh Lumpia?

Sweet and Sour Pork

My regret is that having to eat Baked Chicken Rice makes me so full that I only was able to taste a little bit of this dish.  But I bet Mario was glad he didn’t need to share because he finished the whole dish by himself in no time.  I’ll probably order this dish next time and compare it to the Sweet and Sour Pork of North Park.

May I present, the Sweet and Sour Pork!  You can almost taste the sauce in this picture!
May I present, the Sweet and Sour Pork! You can almost taste the sauce in this picture!

Baked Chicken Rice

This will probably be the reason I’ll keep coming back to their store for years!  Mario isn’t a fan of anything that tastes too tomato-ey (he prefers Pinoy style sweet spaghetti over Italian style), but I am!  This dish is super cheesy with generous chicken breast fillet (yes, no bones to worry about!) and is super satisfying!  My brother loved it as well!  We were scraping off the burnt cheese that got stuck to the ceramic bowl.  It’s so yummy I finished the whole dish (meant for 2) by myself during our first visit.

The chicken is underneath all those cheese!!!
The chicken is underneath all those cheese!!!
You won't need to fight over the chicken because there are 4 half chicken breasts (if I counted correctly).  Each one is positioned on each quadrant (hahahha using math to explain food)!
You won't need to fight over the chicken because there are 4 half chicken breasts (if I counted correctly). Each one is positioned on each quadrant (hahahha using math to explain food)!

To finish off everything, we ordered a hot pot of Jasmine tea.

Here are shots of some parts of the menu.  Notice how super affordable the drinks are?  Considering we were dining in a restaurant in a mall.

Here's where the Popiah is listed.
Here's where the Popiah is listed.
Yey!  My favorite!  Baked Chicken Rice!
Yey! My favorite! Baked Chicken Rice!
We hope to try the Mandarin Orange Chicken next time....
We hope to try the Mandarin Orange Chicken next time....
HUWHAT!?!  Drinks for as low as 25 PHP?!
HUWHAT!?! Drinks for as low as 25 PHP?!
Continuation of Beverage & Dessert menu
Continuation of Beverage & Dessert menu
My brother gave it a thumbs up.  If I could, I'd given it 3 thumbs up!
My brother gave it a thumbs up. If I could, I'd given it 3 thumbs up!
Umm...  The evidence of good food is a clean plate.
Umm... The evidence of good food is a clean plate.

5 thoughts on “Mandarin Wok – A Great Accidental Find

  1. That baked chicken rice sure looks interesting. And the image of the sweet and sour dish is uncharacteristically not reddish. MOA, after all, is a huge place. A foodie can get lost. As a matter of fact, I haven’t really covered the place for my food blog yet. I will soon, though.

    Like

    1. You’re right about foodies getting lost at MOA! We did find yet another wonderful restaurant there by accident and I’ll be blogging about it soon.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

