The Filling Station – Gas up? Food up!

I’m a “forever-night-shift” kind of person working in Paranaque.  It’s always a challenge when there are days that I would like to have a special breakfast before going home.  As much as possible, I’d like not to have to travel for good food when I’m hardly awake, but Anton’s review on this place made me think twice… “for every rule, there is an exception…”

Mario picks me up from work (coming from Marikina) every morning so I asked him if it’ll be alright if we have breakfast in Makati.  “Ok!”, came the swift response!

About the Shop

The place isn’t hard to find if you look for the Royal Bellagio Hotel at P. Burgos St. in Makati.  Here’s the map from the Royal Bellagio Website.

If you’re going there with your car, you can’t park your car in front of the shop.  There simply is no place for it there.  The Royal Bellagio Hotel offers valet for free and the guard can just bring your valet slip up to you in the Filling Station once it’s ready.  We had a problem with this…  When it was time to go, the car arrived smelling like poop.  The valet man must have stepped on something not nice…

They have a narrow staircase leading to the cafe 2nd floor and you’ll occasionally have to move sideways if someone has to pass.  Well, at least I have to give way (gotta lose some weight). ^_^ But I don’t mind, there are so many interesting pictures that made us stop before actually going inside the store.

They have a narrow staircase leading to the cafe 2nd floor and you'll occasionally have to move sideways if someone has to pass.  Well, at least I have to give way (gotta lose some weight).  ^_^  But I don't mind, there are so many interesting pictures that made us stop before actually going inside the store.
Greetings!
He's a fan!  ^_^
He's a fan! ^_^

“The Filling Station” might make it sound like a gasoline station and it’s somehow true.  You can find gasoline pumps just about anywhere inside the cafe.  It also has a 60s kind of feel to it with all of the old records, old news papers, old movie posters, etc displayed on the walls and ceiling.  What really caught my interest were the statues of Batman, Wonderwoman, Elvis, Superman, Flash, a bust of Hulk and Spidey (on the ceiling).  We had a grand time taking pictures with them.

*Cough* *Cough* He got carried away...
*Cough* *Cough* He got carried away...
Archie and gas pump..and me..
Archie and gas pump..and me..
It's time for our duet, Mr. Elvis...!
It's time for our duet, Mr. Elvis...!
And they have a bike too!  Biker Mario from Mars!
And they have a bike too! Biker Mario from Mars!
Oh, and the look wouldn't be complete without the DUKEBOX! ... and Batman.. ^_^
Oh, and the look wouldn't be complete without the DUKEBOX! ... and Batman.. ^_^

About the Food

There’s nothing to rave abou the food except that the serving was big enough for 2 (or to take home).  Mario ordered Frozen Brazzo for dessert (which was almost forgotten since we asked this to be served after the rice meals).  Nothing special.

My order
My order was Bake Chorizo with Egg (I think...). It was ok. The taste of the tomato sauce overpowered the rest of the ingredients.
Mario's order was Shanghai Rolls and additional rice.  There were a lot these big rolls.  We couldn't finish them so he had to take some home.  Tastes ok, normal.
Mario's order was Shanghai Rolls and additional rice. There were a lot of these big rolls. We couldn't finish them so he had to take some home. Tastes ok, normal.
Pang magazine ang kuha! ^_^
Pang magazine ang kuha! ^_^

About the SHAKE!

Now, this is what I’m talking about!  A shake that’s made my imagination a reality!  So thick, so ice-creamy, so delicious!!!  We could have just ordered these and nothing else because they really take up a lot of space in the tummy.  They also serve the rest of the shake in the batch that couldn’t fit in the glass.  I can’t remember how much we paid for this piece of heaven but I think it was a little on the pricey side.  I’ll definitely go back to check on the price.. ^_^ and have another serving…

He ordered Chocolate, I ordered Strawberry!  Different flavors, same results.. Satisfaction!
He ordered Chocolate, I ordered Strawberry! Different flavors, same results.. Satisfaction!
Coming from graveyard shift... Strawberry Shake is the sweet reward!
Coming from graveyard shift... Strawberry Shake is the sweet reward!

Overall

If we do come back for breakfast, I’ll only order the shakes…  But I’m curious to know what kind of crowd hangs out here at night since it’s open 24/7.

Servers in costume, I mean, uniform... ^_^  Reminds me of Maid Cafe
Servers in costume, I mean, uniform... ^_^ Reminds me of Maid Cafe
Yes, open 24/7!
Yes, open 24/7!

2 thoughts on “The Filling Station – Gas up? Food up!

  1. A person nice method to extend a person’s thanks along
    with gratitude is usually sending notes with a
    visualize of you plus your spouse on the wedding day or perhaps a photo utilized during
    your vacation to europre. They want beautiful words and beautiful bride
    to be. org for great tips on making your own wedding dress.

    Like

  2. If you are hosting a destination wedding, your guests may appreciate receiving
    a basket of vacation goodies in their room
    on their arrival. It is a day that every girl the
    world over has dreamed of for years. Go for vinyl sleeves, which last longer than brown envelopes that can easily get torn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

