4th Stop. Lime 88 – Dinner

Well, the song says to “Save the best for last…” and I think we really did!

We weren’t really hungry, in fact, I can distinctly remember being full at that time and we almost called it a day after the movie.  The one thing that didn’t make us go home is the fact that this stop features “street food with a twist”!  Mario has been thinking about bringing street food into malls so this concept of street food being cooked differently is something we wanted to see (and taste) with our own eyes.

About the Store

Looking for the place was so easy if you follow Anton’s directions posted on his site. The place really looks and feels like a friend’s house.  The gate looks like a normal house if not for the sign “Lime 88” I wouldn’t have the courage to go in.  It felt weird at first, because, did I say it really looks like a normal house?

Mario while waiting for our food!  The chopsticks are for the Quail Egg Tempura.
Mario while waiting for our food! The chopsticks are for the Quail Egg Tempura.

As I said on my Valkyrie post, I thought they open at 5PM but after asking one of the crew members, I learned they open at 6PM.  So when we got there (a few minutes pass 5PM), they were just preparing the place for their Valentine’s Day opening.  People were mopping the floors, scattering rose petals everywhere and arranging the tables.

Notice a lot of masking tapes with white bond papers on the menu?  This suggests price change, people!  With prices of everything else going up, that's expected.  Still good value for the money!
Notice a lot of masking tapes with white bond papers on the menu? This suggests price change, people! With prices of everything else going up, that's expected. Still good value for your money! Also, I don't know if it's just because it's Valentine's Day the lights are red, I'm still not sure if that's good or bad, I just remembered that it bothered me sometimes. I'll try to go back and see if the lights are really like that on normal days.

We opted to dine inside the house (you have choice of dining outside for fresh air and a good view of the performers when they come it that night).  We got our tables and I went on placing the order with the “just trust me” sign to Mario.  I knew he liked Kare Kare and so I ordered “Osso Buco Style Kare Kare” (rumored to be the best Kare Kare) and for the other orders, Quail Egg Tempura, Creamy Garlic Tuyo Pasta (yes, I love salty food!) and Thai Green Mango Salad.  We tried ordering Scramble (for 40 php) but the shaved ice isn’t available until later that evening so … too bad for being too early…

About the Quail Egg Tempura

I forgot to take note of the prices so forgive me.  ^_^  I’ll update this post once I  have a chance to go back to Lime 88.

Quail Egg Tempura!!!  Yummy eggs in the basic batter color (no orange food coloring) and the yummy sauces!!!  We liked the soy souce concoction better than the sinamak but both go well with the eggs.  My tip is to let the egg tempura soak in as much sauce as it can before removing it from the sauce.

First to arrive!  Quail Egg Tempura!  Nice presentation, ei?  Considering it looked like we were just dining in someone else's house!  Notice the rose petals?  They're everywhere!  Somebody got berserk scattering them all over the place!  ^_^  I liked the petals too!
First to arrive! Quail Egg Tempura! Nice presentation, ei? Considering it looked like we were just dining in someone else's house! The black sauce strips are soysauce and the red strips are chilli sauce (I think). Notice the rose petals? They're everywhere! Somebody got berserk scattering them all over the place! ^_^ I liked the petals too!
Not too bad for someone who hasn't slept in more than 24 hours.  I've done 48 hours no sleep before.  ^_^;
Not too bad for someone who hasn't slept in more than 24 hours. I've done 48 hours no sleep before. ^_^;

About the Creamy Garlic Tuyo Pasta

Oh, WOW!  This dish is like a dream come true for me!  Who knew I’d be able to get the chance to eat TUYO with Creamy Garlic Pasta!  The Creamy Garlic Pasta has hints of “tuyo” also.  When the dish arrived, I didn’t have any time to meditate on how lucky I am to be alive in this era, I immediately took a bite off the head of the crispy tuyo that came with my pasta and a forkfull of pasta.  Mmmmm!  Pure heaven!

The sign of approval!
The sign of approval!
Yes, you guessed it.  I already had a few forksfull of pasta and had already bitten off the head before we remembered to take a picture.  ^_^  That's how good it was!
Yes, you guessed it. I already had a few forksfull of pasta and had already bitten off the head before we remembered to take a picture. ^_^ That's how good it was!

About the Osso Buco Style Kare Kare

This, for me, was the greated dish out of all the places we’ve been to that day.  Nothing beats the super pihikang Mario saying that “this KareKare is the best in all KareKare I’ve tasted”.  This dish is Mario’s dream come true!  In the tradition of my favorite Mythbusters team, the myth that the Osso Buco style Kare Kare of Lime 88 is the best KareKare in the country, myth-confirmed!

Can you see how yummy that looks!?  Mouth watering!
Can you see how yummy that looks!? Mouth watering!
The very happy and excited Mario claiming his rights to the KareKare.
The very happy and excited Mario claiming his rights to the KareKare.

About the Thai Green Mango Salad

This didn’t arrive until we’ve finished everything and when it did, we were so full to even remember getting a picture of it.  The corriander, with the salad, or was it corriander…?  We didn’t like that.  The chili sauce with the salad also didn’t appeal to me.  I wish it were just the normal ensaladang manga.  You can’t have it all!

Overall

If Lime 88 had a branch near us (Paranaque), we would definitely be there every Friday, Mario’s after work, my before work dinner.  We love it and we are planning to bring the whole family next time!  Count on that!

We were given free glasses of red wine.. for being early? or as Valentine's day gift?  Either way, THANKS!!!
We were given free glasses of red wine.. for being early? or as Valentine's day gift? Either way, THANKS!!!
Mario was there...
Mario was there...
I was there...
I was there...

And yes, the Wandering Boots was there!

My boots and Lime 88!
My boots and Lime 88!

*  For directions, please refer to Anton’s blog and for an idea of their menu go to their Munch Punch page.  Please be warned, though, the prices there are outdated.  The KareKare, which reflects 180php on Munch Punch is now 240php if I’m not mistaken.

5 thoughts on “4th Stop. Lime 88 – Dinner

Leave a Reply

