1st Stop. Kopi Roti – Morning Coffee

I had no idea that some shops open as early as 7AM in SM Mall of Asia which is a nice thing to know especially on days when we just want to save that really good parking spot.  We arrived at Kopi Roti minutes before the mall opened but already, there were people enjoying morning coffee.

This was taken from inside the shop which is located at ground floor south wing parking of Mall of Asia.
This was taken from inside the shop which is located at ground floor south wing parking of Mall of Asia.

I knew what we were ordering and I enthusiastically suggested Set D (4pcs. Homemade “Roti” Kaya Toast and Kopi or Tea and Set E (1 pc. Kopi Bun and Kopi or Tea) to Mario but he insisted on getting Set A (2pcs “Roti” French Toast, 2pcs. Soft Boiled Eggs and Kopi or Tea).   In the end, I got Set D (the Kaya Toast for 75php), Mario got Set A (the French Toast for 115php) and I just ordered a separate Kopi Bun for 40php.

Set D is on the left which is Kopi and Kaya Toast. The really puffy looking bun in the middle is the Kopi Bun. Set A is the one on the right which is the French toast with Kopi. The white thingies at the bottom of the Kopi cups is consdenced milk. And if you're wondering what that yellow paste is with the butter on the French toast plate, that's the Kaya spread. It's Coconut jam with egg and other stuff.
Set D is on the left which is Kopi and Kaya Toast. The really puffy looking bun in the middle is the Kopi Bun. Set A is the one on the right which is the French toast with Kopi. The white thingies at the bottom of the Kopi cups is consdenced milk. And if you're wondering what that yellow paste is with the butter on the French toast plate, that's the Kaya spread. It's Coconut jam with egg and other stuff.

About the store

I’ve read quite a lot of things on interior design as one of my interests and I’m glad to see that the principle of mirrors helped the place too.  For small spaces, a huge mirror on the wall helps deceive the eye into making the place look big and not cramped.

I was playing around with our trusted casio and the mirror.
I was playing around with our trusted casio and the mirror.
    Here's an attempt to have us both in a picture using the huge mirror. You can see the working area (barrista station is what I call it) behind us which is separated from the customer's dining area by a glass. The glass isn't probably very noticeable in this picture except if you look at the area above the camera I'm holding. It shows the reflection of the orange lamps hanging above our table.
Here's an attempt to have us both in a picture using the huge mirror. You can see the working area (barrista station is what I call it) behind us which is separated from the customer's dining area by a glass. The glass isn't probably very noticeable in this picture except if you look at the area above the camera I'm holding. It shows the reflection of the orange lamps hanging above our table.
Here's the working area behind the glass. The glass extends to the ceiling which somehow results to some kind of sound proof booth for the person behind the glass. We were calling out to the girl one time and she didn't really hear us and just went on about her preparations. If you knew how Mario's ala "Morphius" voice sounds like, well, I'd really be surprise if anybody wouldn't notice it.
Here's the working area behind the glass. The glass extends to the ceiling which somehow results to some kind of sound proof booth for the person behind the glass. We were calling out to the girl one time and she didn't really hear us and just went on about her preparations. If you knew how Mario's ala "Morphius" voice sounds like, well, I'd really be surprise if anybody wouldn't notice it.

About the Kopi (coffee) with condensed milk

I’m not at all a coffee drinker, which then prompts the question “Why didn’t I order Tea instead of Kopi?”.  I really wanted to keep myself awake for the whole day since I haven’t had any sleep before starting the Valentine Trip.

The coffee with condensed milk was good especially after stirring which gave it a more mocha color after the milk mixed with the coffee.  This signaled my novice coffee drinking lips that it’ll be bearable.  It had the right sweetness and milk coffee taste.  That probably isn’t a good thing for coffee drinkers since they’d want the coffee taste to stand-out.  Mario is no good too since he’s not a coffee drinker either so it was ok for him too.

This is me and the coffee with the condensed milk stirred it. Yes, the wonderful mocha color I love.
This is me and the coffee with the condensed milk stirred it. Yes, the wonderful mocha color I love.

About the Kaya Toast

The 4 pcs of Kaya Toast, which I shared with Mario, had me go “Mmm…!” on the first bite.  I had no idea what a Kaya Toast was or how it should taste but from what I tasted, it’s really good!  And shall I say that I’m not really a bread person?  I hope you don’t get the impression that I hate coffee shops because I do love them, I just don’t like bread and coffee.  ^_^  Going back to the toast, not knowing anything about it was a good thing as I was pleasantly surprised how good it tasted.  I wanted to share the good news and gave Mario one of the 4 toasts after just 1 bite I had.  He’s finished half of one of the french toasts by this time.  I’ll order the same thing when we get a chance to go back to Kopi Roti.

Here's Mario with my Kaya toasts. Yes, it was my order, but he gets his picture taken with it. ^_^
Here's Mario with my Kaya toasts. Yes, it was my order, but he gets his picture taken with it. ^_^

About the French Toast

Mario had all of it and I didn’t bother to taste (I’m not a bread lover, remember?).  Here’s what he has to say about it…

“The Kopi Roti French Toast was ordinary but the extra-ordinary taste came from the Kaya jam that came with it.  This combination is a definite MUST TRY and I’ll order it again the next time I visit Kopi Roti.” – Mario

    The French Toasts look lonely but they're glad Kaya was with them. Butter hopped in for the ride. They weren't lonely anymore. ^_^
The French Toasts look lonely but they're glad Kaya was with them. Butter hopped in for the ride. They weren't lonely anymore. ^_^

About the Kopi Bun

I’ve never tried Kopi Bun before and I’ve always been curious how these mocha buns taste or how puffy they really are.  I’m really glad I ordered a separate bun.  The smooth crust is not crunchy.  It crumbles a bit when you take a bite but that’s fine.  The inside is puffy and the core is an airy hole with butter and Kaya (they probably use this on the whole bread menu).  We also tried the Filipino way of eating pandesal (in this case Kopi Bun) dipped in coffee.  That gave me the chance to take my first taste of the coffee since it was too hot to sip (Did I mention I don’t like coffee/drinks served hot? ^.^).

More Kopi Buns please!

//abumelt.livejournal.com/
Picture taken from "http://abumelt.livejournal.com/"

Yes… The Wandering Boots was there!

My favorite boots, with the wonderful Kopi.
My favorite boots, with the wonderful Kopi.

*  For more information their menu and idea of the prices go to Munch Punch and for more information on their branches you can go to the official Kopi Roti (Philippines) website.

3 thoughts on “1st Stop. Kopi Roti – Morning Coffee

Leave a Reply

